Congress Poised to Advance Farm Bill to President’s Desk

House to vote Wednesday on passage of nation’s most important agricultural law;
conference committee report includes top priorities for sportsmen-conservationists

WASHINGTON – Last night, the joint Senate-House conference committee reached agreement on a Farm Bill that will be voted upon by the U.S. House of Representatives tomorrow, Jan. 29.

The House bill includes key sportsmen’s priorities including the linkage of conservation compliance with the federal crop insurance program and a “Sodsaver” provision aimed at conserving intact prairie ecosystems.

While the bill’s passage is not guaranteed, a positive House vote should result in the Senate considering the measure in short order, thereby clearing the way for the president’s signature.

Over the past two-plus years that Congress has been debating its reauthorization, the 2008 Farm Bill has expired, been extended and expired again. But at long last, the bill appears to be close to completion. This afternoon, join policy experts who can explain the significance of the House’s recent actions, how they will influence the Farm Bill’s passage into law, and why this bill is crucially important to sportsmen, fish and wildlife, and the nation’s outdoors-focused economy.

Who:

· Dan Wrinn, Director of Public Policy, Ducks Unlimited

· Dave Nomsen, Vice President of Government Affairs, Pheasants Forever and Quail Forever

· Bridget Collins, Agriculture Policy Coordinator, Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies

· Moderator: Steve Kline, Director of Government Relations, Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership

When: Tuesday, Jan. 28, at 4 p.m. EST/3 p.m. CST/2 p.m. MST/1 p.m. PST

To join, call 800-311-9403 and enter access code “175716.”

RSVP to Katie McKalip at [email protected] or 406-240-9262.

For more information on the TRCP visit our website.

Connect with us on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter.

Inspired by the legacy of Theodore Roosevelt, the TRCP is a coalition of organizations
and grassroots partners working together to preserve the traditions
of hunting and fishing.

Katherine K. McKalip

Director of Media Relations

Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership

406-240-9262

[email protected]

www.trcp.org

Post new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions. If you need to refresh the captcha message hit the refresh button below to the right or refresh your browser.